Job Posting Samples and Tips

Typing on keyboard

Our Job Board is a popular feature of our directory! As an employer seeking to hire support, you may post your ad, detailing your specific job needs, and receive email responses from interested applicants. We have included sample job postings below, with tips for writing an effective job description.

To view actual job descriptions currently listed on our Job Board, click here.

Support Worker Needed for Teen (Sample 1)

Posted Thu, Mar 4th

  • Arlington, MA 02474
  • Late afternoon
  • 12 hours per week
  • Salary is TDB based on experience

Job type: Support Worker

Age of client: Teen


Are you a passionate helper? Do you have people skills? We are seeking an enthusiastic and motivated team player to support our 17-year-old daughter who has an intellectual disability. Job duties include meeting the bus after school, helping with homework, snack or meal preparation, going for walks, and assisting with Zoom exercise class. (TIP: Describe your position in a few sentences. Your goal is to interest the right person in your job. You can provide additional details when you follow-up with interested candidates.)

Hours are Monday, Tuesday and Thursday, from 3pm to 7pm. Weekend hours available on occasion, but not required. (TIP: Include the schedule, if you know it.)

Experience with intellectual and developmental disabilities preferred but not required. (TIP: Include the type of experience you would like a job candidate to have.) Competitive pay! We live within an easy walk of public transportation, and there is plenty of on-street parking. (TIP: Include helpful information.) Personal/professional references and background check required. (Tip: Most applicants expect to provide references and be subject to a background check, but it's helpful to include as a reminder.)


Valid drivers license

Comfortable with pets

Additional responsibilities 

Meal preparation

Caregiver Needed for Adult (Sample 2)

Posted Tue, Mar 9th

  • Holliston, MA 01746
  • Morning
  • 7 hours per week
  • $20.00 per hour

Job type: Caregiver

Age of client: Adult


I am looking for an upbeat and reliable caregiver to support my brother-in-law in our home and in the community. He is an awesome 34-year-old with Cerebral Palsy, who attends a day program three days a week. We need someone to provide support two mornings a week when he is home. He needs minimal assistance with transfers, getting dressed, preparing meals, and going about his daily routine. Some assistance with personal care. (TIP: Explain what the job involves and who needs support. Have a more detailed job description available to share at the interview.)

Hours: We are still finalizing the hours we need coverage, but most likely the schedule will be Mondays, from 8 am to noon; and Wednesdays, from 9 am to noon. (Approximately 7 hours per week.) (TIP: If you are not sure of the exact schedule, it's okay to say so.)

Applicant should have some experience working with people with disabilities, but we will provide training. Please be able to provide three references. Background check is required. (Tip: Be sure to include your requirements for hiring.) Your own transportation is required to get to our location, but transportation is generally not part of this job.


Valid drivers license


Additional responsibilities

Meal preparation

Light housekeeping